18
Oct
07

Getting to Know…..Angela Watkin

As we continue with our series to shine the spotlight on MODA Fashion SL team members…meet Angela Watkin. I have known Angela since joining MODA, she is one of the nicest and warmest people you will ever meet. If you see her in-world, say hello. I am sure she would love to hear from you.

When did you join MODA and why?

“I joined MODA in June of 2007 because I wanted to learn to model. I had been to a bunch of fashion shows in sl since I was a small designer myself and didn’t realize that I was even interested in modeling. One day I went to a show and after everyone left I hopped up on the stage and started playing around mimicking what i had just seen, well I was instantly hooked. In my search to find my way to becoming a model I finally ran across MODA Modeling School and started taking classes.”

What is your role at MODA?

“Well I have several roles with MODA. First, I am a Spotlight Model for our weekly Spotlight Fashion Show broadcast on Mondays on SLCN.tv. I am also the Events Coordinator and Designer Relations for the MODA Spotlight team. This is something I truly enjoy, because I can use my organizational skills as well as meet new designers – which is so fascinating. Recently, I was voted in as one of the partners, I am so excited about working with the rest of the team to help ensure MODA’s successful future!”

What do you love about MODA Fashion SL and Modeling?

“I love to be given the tools and education to take an outfit from a designer and put it together with accessories, skin and hair to get that perfect look that represents the designer”s style. I love meeting the models, the designers and fashionistas of SL.”

“I love the people of MODA, the models, the designers and the partners! Its amazing what a wonderful team we have brought together. Everyone does their part and keeps an eye out for each other, its actually one of the most professional teams I’ve been involved with in RL or SL.”

Any advice for new or wannabee models?

“Mostly while your learning keep a positive attitude because its alot of work and commitment to learn how to do it well. Immerse yourself by getting out there and learning about fashion in SL, meet the designers, talk with people of a like mind and take classes. I think taking the classes was one of the most important decisions in moving forward with my fashion career here in SL because it was an immediate immersion into the SL fashion world.”

Who are your favorite designers and why?

“Although I have many, many designers that I love, If I’m going to pick some I’d have to say that Mystikal Faddoul, Sachi Vixen and Nyla Cheeky are 3 of my favorites. I think that all 3 of them have some similar traits that draw me to them. First they are great people who care a great deal about the quality of their work. It shows in the level of detail of their work, the loyalty of their customer base and the success of each of their businesses. To me they represent some of the most important qualities of a successful designer and people that I choose to have around me in general.”

Do you have a favorite project you would like to share?

“I have a small store and studio where I have begun to learn to make my own clothes, Angela Watkin Designs. Since I’ve became involved with MODA I’ve not given the amount of time that I’d like to creating new designs; but in the mean time, while meeting designers and learning more about fashion, I’m also kind of developing a unique style that one day in the not too distant future I will be showing the SL world.”

Details: Dress: Hubby’s Boutique – Chloe dress; Skin: Celestial Studios Vogue Skin – Cashmere(Red – Mid); Shoes: Tickled Pink – Inclination Heel in red; Hair: Frangipani Designs – Casey Charcoal; Jewelery: Tickled Pink – Marbles Chocker and Ripple Bangles Red

0 Responses to “Getting to Know…..Angela Watkin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,693 hits

Subscribe to RSS Feed


