03
Oct
07

If I Were a Famous Fashion Designer


If I were a famous fashion designer looking to enter Second Life, here’s what I would not do:

  1. Assume that I could just throw money at someone and make a splash.
  2. Assume that my rl name was all I needed to be successful in the new world.
  3. Assume that the rules of rl fashion work in a virtual world.

Here’s what I would do:

  1. Dive into the world and have fun! – Learn what it’s all about. Release some of that creativity that gets choked by rl living.
  2. Find an Artist – Find someone who has really immersed him/herself in the virtual world and is really pushing the creative envelope.
  3. Explore the new medium – Learn from others. Look for places where I could contribute.
  4. Work within the world – Maybe I don’t need to spend a lot of money to make a splash.

Alas, I realize that the one thing that even famous fashion designers have too little of is time, so the exploration of this brave new virtual world might have to be delegated. But you can’t delegate responsibility. Someone has to be sure that quality standards are being met.

Bottom line: make sure you have a quality product before your name goes on the label. This goes for ALL the worlds you operate in.

0 Responses to “If I Were a Famous Fashion Designer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,671 hits

Subscribe to RSS Feed


